The Guzheng Forum Forum Index The Guzheng Forum
guzheng talk

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Beginner Questions from Singapore

View previous topic :: View next topic  
WangYao
Plywood

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:28 pm    Post subject: Beginner Questions from Singapore Reply with quote

Hello everyone! I'm a newbie Very Happy

I have some background in Western music but I've never played Chinese music before. Here in Singapore guzheng is quite a common instrument but parents generally pick piano/violin and other Western instruments for their children because they are more considered more prestigious?. I've sat through many an amateur performance and I've always liked the sound of the guzheng but it never really occurred to me to learn it until I saw a youtube clip recently!
Generally, people see anything associated with Chinese culture as somewhat old-fashioned and untrendy. We get a lot of old men busking with erhus and dizi here Laughing I am Chinese but English-educated and generally know more about Western culture and lately I've been feeling rather remorseful about it Embarassed

Questions about the instrument:
Would it be advisable to do a rental to see if I get along with guzheng? I may be able to find a rental scheme here. Also since the guzheng is quite common, there are quite a lot of cheap secondhand instruments in the market. However as a beginner, I am not really qualified to look for flaws or to judge sound quality.

Are there any reputable retailers in Singapore? I don't mind buying from Sound of China but I don't know if the shipping would make it more expensive than buying locally.